The Palm Beach Post recommends these page-turning fall reads.

Who are we kidding? This is Florida.


Fall means heat, random afternoon downpours and the imminent arrival of our snowbird friends who stay with us until the spring, to the annoyance of some.


There is one perk though: Fall reads are finally here, and there is a lot of truly great selections to choose from. We picked a few noteworthy reads that we think will make your fall pretty peachy, even without the benefit of a cozy fireplace.


"How the Dead Speak" by Val McDermid: Fans of McDermid’s Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series (seen in the 90’s t.v. show, "Wire in the Blood"), will be happy to see their favorite pair back in their 11th book.


Tony Hill, now a disgraced criminal profiler in prison, is unable to do what he does best. The woman he loves, former DCI Carol Jordan, has lost both her job and Tony. But when skeletons are found on the grounds of a former orphanage, Tony and Carol once again join forces to stop a killer from striking again. Dec. 3, Grove Atlantic.


"One For the Blackbird, One For the Crow" by Olivia Hawker: In 1876 Wyoming, the Bemis and Webber families have relied on each other for support and companionship, But when Ernest Bemis finds his wife, Cora, in a compromising situation with their neighbor, the worst happens. In seconds, a man is dead, Ernest is off to prison, and the women left behind are divided by anger, mistrust and remorse. Oct. 8, Lake Union Publishing.


"The Worst Kind of Want" by Liska Jacobs: For prim and proper Pricilla Messing, Italy is a welcome escape from a life that lacks any kind of excitement after becoming the round-the-clock caregiver for her ailing mother. Suddenly, Priscilla finds herself in Rome to keep an eye on her rebellious teenage niece, Hannah. But after years of having to care for her mother, babysitting Hannah is the last thing Priscilla wants to do. She throws herself instead into Hannah's world of drinking and partying. But being so close to her niece makes painful and forgotten memories rise to the surface, while an illicit affair with a teenage boy threatens to push her to the edge. Nov. 5, MCD (Farrar, Strauss and Giroux).


"Wild Game" by Adrienne Brodeur: When Adrienne was 14, her mother woke her up in the middle of a hot July night, uttering five words that would alter their lives for decades to come: ’Ben Souther just kissed me.’


From that moment on, Adrienne would help orchestrate her married mother’s affair with her husband’s closest friend. This would impact Adrienne’s own life in many ways, driving her into an ill- advised marriage and then into a deep depression. Oct. 15, Houghton, Mifflin, Harcourt.


"Palm Beach, Mar-a-Lago, and the Rise of America’s Xanadu" by Les Standiford: The author of "Last Train to Paradise" tackles a topic that Palm Beachers know all too well: Mar-a-Lago. Standiford chronicles how the cereal heiress Marjorie Merriweather Post and her husband E.F. Hutton built the Gilded Age mansion that is now dubbed ‘The Winter White House.’ Nov. 5, Atlantic Monthly Press.


"The Wicked Redhead" by Beatriz Williams: A follow up to her novel, The Wicked City, Williams brings back her flapper heroine Ginger "Gin" Kelly, who now lives a peaceful life in Cocoa Beach with disgraced Prohibition agent, Oliver Anson Marshall. But their time in paradise comes to an end when Marshall is reinstated and put to work patrolling for rum-runners on the high seas, from which he suddenly disappears. Williams is one of the best in the genre of historical fiction, taking readers to an era of cool jazz, fast-talking men, and rebellious women. Dec. 10, William Morrow.


"It Would Be Night in Caracas" by Karina Sainz Borgo: Told from the battlegrounds of a troubled city, It Would be Night in Caracas tells the story of Adelaida Falcon, who has recently buried her mother and the only family she has ever known, in Caracas, Venezuela. Now, Adelaida must face on her own the dangers of protest-ridden streets and the violence that one day comes knocking at her door. Sainz Borgo narrates with shocking reality the downfall of a once shining city. Oct. 17, HarperVia.


"The Starless Sea" by Erin Morgenstern: The anticipated second novel by the author of "The Night Circus," arrives in the form of a story about a mysterious book found hidden by graduate student Zachary Ezra Rawlins between the stacks of his college library. Mesmerized by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he stumbles upon a story from his own childhood. In his quest to make sense of why his life is chronicled inside this book, Zachary uncovers clues that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, a secret club, and a doorway to an ancient library hidden far below the surface of the earth. Morgenstern once again brings all the magic and appeal of a fantastic tale to this page-turning story. Nov. 5, Doubleday.


"Full Throttle" by Joe Hill: Hill’s short story collection packs a heavy punch for those who love creepy stories. Among the tales, a little door that opens to a world of fairy tale wonders becomes the blood-drenched stomping ground for a gang of hunters in "Faun." A grief-stricken librarian climbs behind the wheel of an antique Bookmobile to deliver fresh reads to the dead in "Late Returns." And in the sweltering heat of the Nevada desert, a faceless trucker finds himself caught in an evil dance with a tribe of motorcycle outlaws in "Throttle," co-written with Hill’s father, Stephen King. Oct. 1, William Morrow.


"The Institute" by Stephen King: In his newest hair-raising endeavor, King introduces Luke Ellis, a young boy who wakes up in the middle of the night locked in the back of an SUV by strangers who murdered his parents. Luke is taken to The Institute, where he discovers that outside his locked room door are other doors that hide children with very special abilities. He quickly learns that The Institute is a bad place, one he may never be able to leave. Sept. 10, Scribner.


"29 Seconds" by T.M. Logan: Imagine that your boss relentlessly harassed you every single day. He tells you that the only way you’ll move up, is if you sleep with him. Now imagine that a stranger approaches you with a unique offer: "Give me one name. One person. And I will make them disappear." Would you take it?


This is the story of Sarah, a young professor who now has to decide if giving this stranger the name she so desperately wants to give, can eventually come back to haunt her. T.M. Logan flawlessly delivers a heart-thumping story with a shocking twist. Sept. 10, St. Martin’s Press.


"The Last Affair" by Margot Hunt: Nora Holliday wouldn’t describe herself as a woman who has an illicit affair with a married man. But Josh Landon is everything her alcoholic husband is not, and now she and Josh can’t stay away from each other.


Abby Landon, Josh’s daughter, is home from college after a bad breakup. When she sees her father kissing Nora, she makes a promise to bring Nora down.


What of Abby’s mother and Josh’s wife, Gwen? To everyone else, she’s a content wife and mother who appears to be living the ideal suburban life.


Until she winds up dead.


Who killed Gwen Landon, and just how many secrets will come to the surface in the end? Nov. 26, Harlequin/Mira.


"The Dutch House" by Ann Patchett: Danny Conroy grows up in the Dutch House, a lavish place in small-town Pennsylvania. Though his father is distant and his mother is absent, Danny has his sister Maeve. But one day, their father brings Andrea home. Though they don’t know it yet, Andrea’s arrival will exact a banishment for Danny and Maeve from the only home they have ever known. Sept. 24, Bloomsbury.


"Modern Love: Revised and Updated" edited by Daniel Jones: Encompassing the most popular and unforgettable essays from the New York Times "Modern Love" column, this now revised edition features stories from the upcoming television series starring Tina Fey, Andy Garcia, Anne Hathaway, Catherine Keener, Dev Patel, and John Slattery. Sept. 3, Crown Publishing.


"The Pursuit" by Joyce Carol Oates: As a child, Abby had the same recurring nightmare night after night, in which she wandered through a field ridden with human skulls and bones. Now an adult, Abby thinks she’s outgrown her demons. But the evening before her wedding, the terrible dream returns and forces her to confront secrets from her past she has kept from her new husband, Willem. Oct. 1, Grove Atlantic.


"Seven Letters" by J.P. Monninger: Kate Moreton, on sabbatical in Ireland from her teaching position at Dartmouth College, meets Ozzie Ferriter, a fisherman and a veteran of the American war in Afghanistan. The two fall deeply in love and attempt to live on an island of their own making, away from the outside world. But the limits of Kate and Ozzie’s love and faith in each other will be tested when his demons lead Ozzie to become reckless with his life and Kate’s. Oct. 8, St. Martin’s Griffin.


"Olive Again" by Elizabeth Strout: Olive Kitteridge struggles to understand not only herself and her own life but the lives of those around her in the town of Crosby, Maine. This time around, she will grapple with a teenager coming to terms with the loss of her father, a young woman about to give birth during an inopportune moment, a nurse who confesses a secret high school crush, or a lawyer who struggles with an inheritance she does not want to accept. Strout’s most unforgettable character continues to deliver both shocking bluntness and inspiring life lessons. Oct. 15, Random House.


"The Testaments" by Margaret Atwood: The anticipated follow up to Atwood’s iconic novel "The Handmaid’s Tale," will answer questions that fans have wanted to know for decades? What happened to Ofred? Will she find freedom once the van closed its doors, or something worse? What will be the future of Gilead? Sept. 10, Penguin Random House.



adelgado@pbpost.com


@litadriana