Athlete of the Year

Chauncy Smart

Auburndale, Senior

100-Meter Dash

Best Time: 10.26

Why we picked him: Chauncy Smart is a back-to-back boys track and field athlete of the year. He followed up his stellar 2016 campaign with an even better senior year. He easily won the county, district and regional titles to put him back at the state meet, where he fell just short of a state title last year. This year, he went in as the top seed and faced a strong challenge from Miami Norland’s Tyrese Cooper, who qualified first in the preliminaries. In the final, Smart ran 10.56 to finally win the state title. His time was the fastest in all four classifications at the state meet. Smart’s fastest time of 10.26 is currently 11th in the nation and his FAT/Wind Legal time of 10.4 also ranks 11th in the nation. Smart also won the 200 at three meets during the season and took second at county and districts.

Coach of the Year

Brian Robichaud

George Jenkins

Led George Jenkins to the team title at the Polk County meet and the Class 4A, District 5 Meet. The Eagles fell just short at the 4A-2 region meet were they finished second.

First Team

Cardet Bienvenue

Winter Haven, Junior


Best Time: 21.35

Lost in the finals just twice, won county, district and regional titles and finished fifth at state.

Terrance Denson

George Jenkins, Freshman

400, Long Jump

Best Time, Mark: 51.16, 22-3.75

Won county title in 400 and won county in district titles in the long jump.

Antonio Gomez

Frostproof, Junior

800, 1,600, 3,200

Best Times: 2:00.26, 4:18.33, 9:28.74

Won regional title in 1,600 and finished second at county, district and state. Finished second in the 3,200 at county, districts and regionals and was seventh at state. Also won district title in the 800.

Paul Stafford

Lake Wales, Junior

1,600, 3,200

Best Times: 4:20.93, 9:28.74

Finished first at districts, second at regionals and third in state in 1,600. Won district and regional titles in the 3,200 and was fifth at state.

Willie Baker

Lakeland, Senior

110 Hurdles

Best Time: 14.37

Has best time in the county since 2003, the oldest records available. Won district and regional titles and was fifth in the state.

Didiah Hall

George Jenkins, Senior

300 Hurdles

Best Time: 37.77

Finished second at county, first at districts and regionals and fourth at state.

Arian Smith

Mulberry, Freshman

Long Jump

Best Mark: 23-7.25

Won state title and also took fourth at county, first at districts and third at regionals.

Nick Taylor

Lake Gibson, Senior

High Jump 

Best Mark: 6-4

Finished first at county and districts, second at regionals and 10th at state.

Tony Pierce

Auburndale, Junior

Shot Put, Discus

Best Marks: 55-11.75, 157-8.25

Has county’s best marks in both events. Finished first at county, districts and regionals and was third at state in shot put. Finished first at county, second at districts, fourth at regionals and seventh at state in the discus.

Davis Ott

George Jenkins, Senior

Pole Vault

Best Mark: 15-06

Set county mark in the pole vault. Won county, district and regional titles and took third at state.

Justin Slaton

George Jenkins, Senior

Triple Jump

Best Mark: 42-1.5

Won county title and took second at districts.

Honorable Mention

All Saints: Jacob Warren, Dale Booker.

Auburndale: Shyheim Stokes, Kyante Cobbett.

Bartow: Bryston Myrick, Aaron Thomas, Sean Morgan, L.J. Cummings, Jeremy Henderson.

Frostproof: Emannuel Coleman, Tyler Gonzalez, Deontae McMahon.

George Jenkins: Nehemiah Ancar, Damarcus Sneed. Tyson Williams, Harley Lauscar, Stone Malick, Brady Zimmerman, Andy Labrada, Jordan Domineck, Ryan Gutierrez, Vance Monroe, James Sunailitus, Wyland Alleva, Riley Ott.

Haines City: Andre Rampergas. Jorden Benjamin, Steven Puget.

Lake Gibson: Trevon Thompson, Christian Smith

Lake Region: Joshua Caldwell-Feggins, Bryce Duncan, Tyler Andrews, Francis Murphy, Marquise Dorcent.

Lake Wales: Johnny Richardson.

Lakeland: Deyavie Hammond, Ja’Darius Brown, Damian Zipperer.

Lakeland Christian: Joe Kornbrust, Bryson Yamnitz, Connor Gonzalez-Fox, Remi Musick, Sam Riley, Seth Martinez.

McKeel: D.J. Cunningham.

Mulberry: Isaiah Guinyard.

Ridge Community: Alex Ferguson. Elijah Gotshall.

Santa Fe Catholic: Luis Davila, Jonathan Lopez, Cody Bush.

Tenoroc: Tajour Waldon, Markeith Holloway.

Victory Christian: Lavonte Vickers, JaQuan Randolph, Abule Abadi-Fitzgerald, Eddie Hopkins.

Winter Haven: Ira Ware, Jacob Warren, Wilton Storr.