Freshman Rob Perry scored a game-high 34 points — including 25 in the second half — to lead Stetson on Saturday to a come-from-behind victory over Western Illinois in Macomb, Ill.

Perry finished 12 of 18 from the field, including a 6 of 9 effort from 3-point range. He was 4 of 6 from the free throw line and added 7 rebounds.

Perry was big for the Hatters down the stretch, scoring seven straight points for the Hatters at one point to turn a 65-64 Stetson edge into a 72-64 advantage with 1:38 to play.

From there things got tight. Western Illinois (0-2) scored five straight points to get within 72-69 with 38 seconds to play. Mahamadou Diawara's layup briefly silenced the Leathernecks as Stetson took a 74-69 advantage with 19 seconds to go, but Western's C.J. Duff drained a three-pointer nine seconds later to make it a 74-72 game.

The Hatters had a chance to put the game away but made just one of four free throws as Terry Ivery and Perry went to the line on consecutive plays. But Western missed a deep three on the other end and Jahlil Rawley got the rebound and capped the best game of his Stetson career with a pair of free throws with two seconds to go for a 77-72 lead. Western sank a half-court shot just before the buzzer for the final score.

Rawley was a big key for the Hatters on Saturday, scoring 10 points on 4 of 4 shooting and grabbing a career-high 11 rebounds. Diawara finished with 13 points and 4 boards in just 13 minutes.

Zion Young led Western Illinois with 24 points.

The Hatters shot 51 percent for the game (26-51), including a 9 of 20 effort from 3-point range. Stetson out-rebounded Western 39-27, allowing just 8 offensive rebounds.

Stetson’s McCauley named ASUN soccer Defensive Player of Year

Stetson's Ian McCauley was named ASUN Conference Defensive Player of the Year in men's soccer, and five other Hatters received all-conference honors in voting by league head coaches.

Joining McCauley on the all-conference first team is sophomore Sebastian Chalbaud. Freshman Lute Lillo-Portero and senior Gabriel Diniz were named second team all-conference, while freshmen Calum Ferguson and Gio Rodriguez earned spot on the All-Freshmen team.

McCauley, a fifth-year senior, is the third Hatter to win Defensive Player of the Year honors, and the first since 2011. After missing the 2018 season with injury, McCauley spearheaded Stetson's defense and contributed offensively with one goal and two assists.

McCauley's best individual effort this season came in Stetson's 1-0 win over eventual league champion NJIT, as he held ASUN Player of the Year and league leading scorer Rene White to just one shot.

Chalbaud, a midfielder, earns his first all-conference honor after playing 16 games and making 14 starts. He scored one goal and had one assist in the regular season.

Lillo-Portero led the ASUN with in saves (65) and shutouts (5). He has played every minute in goal for Stetson in 2019.

Diniz earned his second all-conference nod and led the ASUN with six assists.

Ferguson started all 17 games and scored a goal against Georgia Southern.

Rodriguez appeared in 15 games as a midfielder. He scored the game-winning goal at Liberty, and also had an assist in a win over Winthrop.

And seniors Finn Busmann, Chris Degance and Diniz were named to the ASUN All-Academic Team, in voting by league Sports Information & Communications Directors.

To qualify, student-athletes must have at least a 3.30 grade-point average, be at least a sophomore athletically, and participate in at least 50 percent of their teams' contests.

ERAU runners earn all-conference honors

Four Embry-Riddle runners were named to the Sunshine State Conference All-Conference men’ cross country squad Friday.

In addition, Tanner Rosolino was named the league's Freshman of the Year. Ryan Szklany and Calahan Warren repeat as first-teamers, with Shaun Bullock and Brian Cheluget garnering second-team accolades.

ERAU’s Sarah Edens was named to the All-Sunshine State Conference women’s cross country first team. Joining Edens on the all-conference roster was freshman Anna Miller, who claimed second-team accolades.

Edens finished fourth at the SSC Championships two weeks ago, running the 10th-fastest 6K time in Embry-Riddle history (22:46.8). It marked the third top-10 finish for Edens in 2019, and the 21st of her collegiate career. Edens also earned first team All-SSC accolades in 2017 and 2018.

Miller, a native of Hoffman Estates, Illinois, had an impressive freshman season, including her 12th-place showing at the SSC Championships in a time of 23:36.1. Miller became the eighth-fastest 5K runner in school history in October with a 18:27.0 at the Charles Bowles Invitational out in Salem, Oregon.