Miami releases their newcomer jersey numbers

Ricky Williams, Reshad Jones and Cam Wake are three of the best players in Dolphins history, but their numbers aren’t retired.

So their former jersey numbers will be worn by Miami newcomers in 2020.

Running back Matt Breida, acquired in a trade with the 49ers, will wear 20, a number donned by safety Reshad Jones from 2010-2019.

Cornerback Ken Crawley actually wore 20 briefly last season.

Running back Jordan Howard, signed as a free agent, will wear 34, a number donned by running back Ricky Williams in 2003, 2005 and 2007-2010.

Five players have actually worn 34 since Ricky, including Damien Williams (Super Bowl MVP for the Chiefs last season) and De’Lance Turner and Samaje Perine last season.

And defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah, signed as a free agent, will wear 91, a number worn by defensive end Cam Wake from 2009-2018.

Vonnie Holliday and Jay Williams were the last Dolphins to wear 91 prior to Wake.

Also of note, star cornerback Byron Jones will wear 24. Key linebacker acquisition Kyle Van Noy will wear 53. And free agent defensive end Shaq Lawson will wear 90, vacated by the traded Charles Harris and once worn by Marco Coleman.


To sign up for a free Dolphins newsletter, click here.